I [heart] Chocolate

We were supposed to get some massive snowstorm today. Here is what it looked like at 10 am Wednesday morning.

snow

Oh, what a crazy storm! The U.S. government shuts down when we have these crazy snow storms, so hubby got to work from home today. Since we had extra time for breakfast, Adam requested that we make something special. I had seen some chocolate waffles on Pinterest the other day, so I suggested we try some and hubby began salivating right then and there.

Since I hadn’t actually pinned the recipe I saw, I did a quick Google search and the first link was for an Alton Brown recipe. I absolutely adore this man and his cooking, so I simply could not resist. Once again, he delivered. You can find the recipe here. I replaced 1/2 cup of all purpose flour with wheat flour and they turned out great. I might try to go 100% whole wheat next time.

You’ll have to forgive me- the only photo I have is the less-than-perfect one I posted on Instagram earlier. I meant to take more photos, but I sort of got caught up in the chocolate goodness of the waffles and the accompanying sauce. If you’ve never had fruit sauce on your waffles or pancakes, you have to try it. Super easy and ridiculously good. Just throw frozen fruit in your blender with a little water and blend. I did frozen strawberries and a banana with about 1/2 cup water. I also added about 1 TBSP of maple syrup at the end because I didn’t think it was quite sweet enough.

Waffles

What is your favorite chocolate food or treat? Tell us in the comments and be sure to leave a link if you have one! 



Leave a comment