Green Casserole

20110425-043724.jpg

Original Recipe (Thanks MoneySavingMom!)

This is what I ended up doing.
5 c. pearled barley
2 eggs
1 c milk
1/3 c dried parsley
4 oz. green chilies
2 c. cheddar cheese (I reserved about 1/3 c. to sprinkle on top)
1/2 c. butter
1/4 tsp black pepper (roughly measured)
1 tsp salt (also roughly measured)
Half of a large onion
1 cup chunks of cooked chicken breast (was cooked with onions)

Baked at 350 for 30 minutes (covered with foil) and then an extra 10 minutes uncovered. My husband actually like it with barley, though he did say he preferred rice. Also a  hit with my nieces and nephews! I’ve made this casserole a few times now and previous times I’ve also added frozen brocolli, decreased butter, and increased milk.

Brocolli=success

Butter=success

Extra milk=bad idea (I was trying to compensated for all the extra stuff I put in, but it ended up just being runny and soggy)

Leave a Reply

