Extreme Couponing

20110712-031606.jpg

I used to insist that the cashier scan my savings card BEFORE they started scanning groceries so I could check the prices for each item as they scanned. However; I knew this time I was going to come out with significant savings so I let every item scan first before handing over my card. I have to admit, there was something very satisfying about watching the monitor lag because there were so many deductions. I was also extremely giddy when I saw the $113.51 total go all the way down to $34.98.  Seriously- I felt like I was on the show Extreme Couponing, and was honestly a little disappointed that the cashier did not make a comment about it.

I started couponing about 1.5 months ago, and I’ve definitely made some mistakes along the way. But it has been exciting and I’ve already started stockpiling quite a few items. My goal for next month is to spend less than our allotted grocery budget. Wish me luck!

Now…for how I got all these items for 70% off:

-15 boxes of Kellog’s cereal @ 1.67 a box

Used 3 $5/5 coupons (Redplum) for an end total of .67 a box! My goal used to be less than $2 a box, but thanks to these high value coupons and a great sale at Smith’s, I was able to get a LOT of cereal (which we only eat 1-2x a week, but it stores so well I couldn’t turn it down).

-Downy Fabric Softener (60 loads) $5

Used $1/1 eCoupon  to make the total $4    I am determined to get  a better deal on this in the future, but we were totally out. I only like the “scent-free” and I’m not brave enough to try cheaper brands (yet).

-2 packages Stayfree pads (24 count) $3.06

Used Buy1 Get 1 free coupon making them $1.53 each

-M&Ms (small packs by the checkout) .50 each

Used .75/2 making these 0.12 each! I don’t usually buy M&Ms, but I bought 6 regular and 6 peanut. I will probably use them as small gifts or perhaps in place of chocolate chips in cookies!

-5.55 lbs Bananas $3.06 (.57/lb)

-Avocados x2  $1.98

-Cherries $3.18

-Butter x2 @ 2.99 each

I usually have my freezer stocked with butter (5-10 boxes at a time) but I haven’t seen a sale on butter in quite a while and we were completely out! Smith’s occasionally has a 3 for $5 sale but I haven’t seen this in quite some time. Hopefully there is a sale soon! I just made cookies and that has already eaten through half this butter.

Did you find any of the items I bought for cheaper this week? Any other good sales?

5 Comments on “Extreme Couponing”

  1. Jenni Kirkeby says:

    Where do you get your coupons from, Christy? I need to start doing that with my mom!

    • Christy says:

      My favorite place to get coupons is the recycling bin right by the mailboxes in our apartment complex. There is a Redplum circular that comes in our mail every week, and I usually pick up about 6 copies. I get a Smartsource insert delivered every week (some Utah thing). I’ve also started printing a lot of coupons. Coupons.com is great, and Target always has good ones to print (see my post about Target). Maybe I will have to do a post about this! The Sunday paper is also a good source, but I have been so successful at getting free coupons that I haven’t felt that was necessary.

      If you are brave enough you could dig through the big recycling bins at the grocery store (I know the old Kroger used to have one, but not sure where they are located now). Lots of people throw out the inserts, so if you can find someone who doesn’t use them, or are brave enough to dig through recycling bins, you should be able to collect a lot. The key is stocking up on the items you use while they are cheap, and then you can shop from your own supply . Hope this helps!

  2. Jenni says:

    Lol, I’m totally not too chicken to dig through recycling bins. My mom and I already go to the one at the post office (which you should try! lol). And thanks! That was really helpful. I’ll have to tell my mom about Target and Coupons.com. 🙂

  3. Becca says:

    Butter is usually around $2.50/lb at WinCo (I try to buy it when it hits below $2.40). But I don’t know if it is more expensive right now – I’ve had such a stock pile in my freezer from the last time it was $2.38/lb (I bought like, 20lbs ha ha). Last time I checked at Sam’s it was about $2.52/lb. I’m running low so I need to start checking more often. I usually check butter prices every time I’m at WinCo. I’ll let you know if I find it cheap.

    • Christy says:

      I forgot to look at WinCo. I think the last time I looked I remembered it being above my target 1.67, but I just don’t know if Smith’s will ever sell it that cheap again. 😦 I will buy it at Winco block by block until I find a good stock up price. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

