Calculus Power-Up

20110713-120236.jpg

I know, I know. What’s up with the name? In high school I would make this by combining  1 can black beans, 1 can corn, and 1 can Rotel (tomatoes + green chilies).  A friend of mine would brings chips and I’d bring this as dip. I’m still not sure how we got away with this, but we’d eat it in our Pre-Calculus class every few weeks. Regardless, the name just sort of stuck and I’m still calling it  that today.

Now I have started making this with ingredients that are a little more fresh. The photo from above was about a month ago when I made it, so it looks slightly different than the recipe I’m going to give you below. The batch I made yesterday was delicious. We ate it on quesadillas and it great!

2-3 cups black beans (I make them in my Crockpot)

4 ears of corn (baked in the oven at 350 for about 30 min)

4 large vine ripened tomatoes

4 green onions

about 3/4 c cilantro (you can omit or use less, but we love cilantro)

salt, pepper, onion & garlic powder (I just sprinkle these on until it tastes good!)

I think the cilantro really made it great this time. I think last time I put in a can of green chilies, which is what those little green specks in the photo are. There is also a possibility  they are green peppers. [This is precisely the reason I started this blog- I can’t ever remember when I make something great!]

Tonight I’m eating this with a frozen (homemade) burrito, and tomorrow we will probably eat it as a dip on chips.

How would you eat Calculus Power-up?

Leave a Reply

