Freezer Burritos

I’ve been trying to find recipes that freeze well, because there are some days where I just don’t feel like cooking anything. I love having food in the freezer that can be pulled out for a quick meal, but the only time I buy pre-packaged frozen dinners is when I can buy them for $0.88 (Smith’s had such a sale a few weeks ago). Most frozen foods from the grocery store are simply not nutrient dense, so I am forced to make my own freezer meals. I’ve frozen burritos a few times now, and we really like them.

Here are the simple instructions.

Start with flour tortillas (I use whole wheat). Heat them for 30 seconds in the microwave to prevent cracking.

20110715-061156.jpg

Add the insides. I put in smashed kidney bean, brown rice, chicken, mexican blend cheese, and green chili enchilada sauce.

20110715-061236.jpg

Arrange on pan and freeze until solid (1-2 hours).

20110715-061341.jpg

Once solid, transfer to freezer bags.

20110715-061415.jpg

I made a batch of plain bean and a batch of chicken with beans. Adam prefers meat in his, while I don’t mind eating just bean burritos. I’m still working on how long to heat them. We warm these in the oven when we are home, but most often I take these for dinner at work (so they get warmed in the microwave). I froze some of the enchilada sauce the first time around so we could thaw and put extra sauce and cheese on top. That worked really well and I definitely missed it with the last batch I made.

What food do you find freezes well?

Leave a Reply

