Tame the Nest

Growing up I never really cared what my hair looked like and I rarely wore make-up. My hair typically cycles through periods of growing out until it is unmanageable at which time I chop it off above the shoulders. Well, my hair has gotten pretty long as evidenced here and I usually prefer a “less fuss” method of doing things so naturally I mentioned to my husband that I was thinking about chopping off my hair. I expected him to immediately yell “no!” as so many of my male friends in college would have done, but he was kind of indifferent about it. That meant I had to make a decision about what I wanted for my hair. Yikes!

I have decided to keep it long (and least for the time being), but I have a few challenges to address.

1.) I work in a laboratory and it is generally considered a safety hazard to leave long hair unrestrained during work. Plus, do I really want my hair to accidentally brush a tabletop where someone has spilled blood or urine? Gross.

2.) Even being a low fuss kind of girl, I still find myself getting tired of a plain braid or basic ponytail. An old co-worker told me once that I look like a farm girl when I come in wearing scrubs, no make-up, and my hair in a braid. Not really the image I want for myself.

3.) Within an hour of my hair drying the bottom half ties itself in knots. Seriously- I can sit on my couch and and be completely still and I will still end up with a large nest of hair sitting on my scalp, though usually just the rear middle section for some reason. It gets worse when I’m moving or outside with a breeze. If there is full on wind it ends up looking something like this.

I’ve decided to learn some quick up-dos and new braids. I’m going to keep it simple, but if I’m going to have long hair this is the only solution I can see working. Yesterday I sort of made up my own, and I got lots of compliments so I thought I would post it for my fellow long-haired friends who need a little inspiration. It took me less than ten minutes and only two tries to get this together.

Please forgive me for the first and last pictures…I was being stubborn and wouldn’t ask DH to take them for me.

20130101-203631.jpg

I did a simple french braid down one side of my head, braiding down until there was only about an inch of hair left un-braided.

20130101-203650.jpg

I finally broke down and let DH take one.

I ran the portion of the braid not attached to my head along the back of my head and tucked the non-braided end underneath the braid. I then proceeded to pin it all in place with bobby pins. I only have bobby pins because my sister used them to do my hair when I got married, but they are magical! I’m not sure why I never learned how to use them before now.

These photos were taken after a long day at work, but I think the style held up well and I like the less-than-perfect look.

20130101-203641.jpg

A fuzzy close up I took myself.

Are there any other no fuss hairstyles I should know about? I have pinned a few over here that I’m excited to try out.

I’m including a poll to see what you guys think about my hair color. It is a hotly debated topic among those who know me, and I’m curious to know what the masses think.  So vote and tell me what you think.

8 Comments on “Tame the Nest”

  1. Becca says:

    I like it!! I keep debating about cutting my hair or leaving it long… I love doing stuff like this (making up ways to pull my hair back) but my hair is so nappy it’s hard to braid sometimes. Maybe I just need to try trimming off all the split ends 😉

    • Christy says:

      Getting rid of the split ends will help! I’m long overdue for a trim, but I hate finding a new person to cut my hair (or clean my teeth, or any other service professional…haha).

  2. Katie R says:

    Nate always liked my hair short but I decided to grow it out anyway. But I hear you as far as finding ways to style it!

    As far as your hair color goes, I voted brown, although I am imagining it was blonde when you were a child?

    Hope you’re doing well. We should get together!

    • Christy says:

      It seems like there are so few men who like short hair! How cool of Nate.

      We are doing extremely well and yes-we should definitely plan a get-together.

  3. I’m impressed. My favorite part is that you made it up yourself.

    I voted “other”. I kinda think of you as blonde because I’m retaining memories of you when you were little. I would probably describe you as someone whose hair is brown but I would not describe you as a brunette. But, as my brother once said (when people in Seattle kept telling Roscivs his wife was blonde, and NO ONE in Utah ever thought I was anywhere near blonde), Mormons (or people who live in areas where there is a lot of Scandinavian heritage) are a skewed sample of what is blonde and not blonde — they’re “blonde-snobs”. Most people around the world, he would contend, would say you’re blonde (or I’m blonde … and my hair’s darker than yours). When my mom lived in Spain people called her “blondie” in Spanish, and she was like “I’m not blonde!” but … to a bunch of Spaniards, she was 🙂

    You may have tried this already for the knotting, but rinsing your hair with apple cider vinegar every couple of washes may help a lot with the tangling.

    • Christy says:

      My hair was definitely blonde when I was little, though I would still term it “dirty blonde.” My definition of blonde is synonymous with yellow, so when I think blonde I think someone who has more of a “bleach blonde” color. This poll wasn’t completely fair because in the summer my hair does lighten up and does have lots of blonde highlights. Maybe I’ll do a post of my hair through the years. 🙂

      I will have to try the apple cider vinegar. I would love to find a solution to the knotting.

  4. Sara says:

    That is super cute, Christy! You almost made me wish I hadn’t just chopped my hair off this summer. I voted blonde, but I’m not sure how accurate that is, I just think of you as blonde. If I was to be truthful I would say light brown with natural blonde highlights.

    • Christy says:

      I like to describe my hair exactly that way- “light brown with blonde highlights.”

      I want to see your chopped hair! I may plan a little Georgia vacation for us to come visit you, also because I’m thinking we might like Atlanta. I’m missing the South a lot, but I would kind of like to do something other than Arkansas. We’ll see what happens in the next few years!


Leave a Reply

