Grace [noun]: mercy; clemency; pardon

I believe in eating nourishing food. I am intentional with my grocery list and the only food that comes into our home is fruits, vegetables, dry grains, and raw meat. I cook 100% of our meals and snacks from scratch. We don’t eat refined sugar.

This is my DREAM.

NOT my reality.

The truth is, I try. And that first statement is true. I believe in eating nourishing food. But I’m not always intentional with my grocery list, processed foods sneak into my cart are chosen carefully based on the level of dopamine release I will get, and I just can’t quite figure out how to cook from scratch 100% of the time while I’m also working 40 hours a week.

Over the last few weeks/months I have been coming to terms with my homemaking shortcomings. While I know someday I will be a superwoman who can do everything, today is not that day. I’m trying to be okay with that.

When we first got married I refused to buy certain convenience foods for Adam that he wanted us to keep on hand. He knew that some nights I would be too tired to cook or be overwhelmed with everything I needed to get done. He was trying to help out by having food on hand that he could cook himself (think frozen pizza, 5 minute pasta from a box, etc). But I refused for a few reasons:

1.) I never get tired. I always want to cook. And I’ll always have freezer meals and options for him so he doesn’t have to worry [delusional maybe?].

2.) He doesn’t need a box full of sodium and calories with very little nutrition.

3.) If I can make a quick and healthy meal then he can too.

In truth by refusing to buy convenience food for my husband I was protecting myself from my own laziness and hormonal desire for empty calories. If I was thinking about making a delicious batch of lentil burgers on homemade whole wheat buns and I knew there was a box of mac and cheese in the cupboard, I’m going to go with the box of mac and cheese 90% of the time.

I still have moments when I superimpose my dreams onto our reality, but I’m getting better at focusing on what is actually happening and accepting it to be good enough [for now].

Most importantly, I’m learning to give myself grace.

And some nights (like tonight) I might even willingly pick up a box of ramen noodles and frozen pizza for my dear husband us to share on the crazy nights.

Do you find it difficult to eat well when life is busy? 

2 Comments on “Grace [noun]: mercy; clemency; pardon”

  1. Miranda says:

    I find it most difficult to eat well when I haven’t planned properly. I also tend to eat better in the spring, summer, and fall. Something about cold weather and baking. I love that you are each becoming more involved in the process of quick and healthy meal preparation. So fun. Moosewood cookbooks are some of my very favorites for finding flavorful and healthy meals!

  2. “I still have moments when I superimpose my dreams onto our reality, but I’m getting better at focusing on what is actually happening and accepting it to be good enough [for now].”

    I feel like that superimposition of dreams onto reality is the biggest hurdle in changing eating habits.

    I can’t imagine trying to make my current diet and food prep work while clocking 40 hours a week. I would collapse. (That’s part of why I’ve changed my diet, though — I want to be able to work more. Or collapse less.) I remember when I was working full time … ugh … and the amount of Kraft macaroni and cheese that I ate is — ugh! — really awful. But even much of the “healthier” stuff that I ate then wouldn’t meet my criteria now.


Leave a Reply

