Our Journey Out of Debt [part 2]

Mondays That Matter logo

*If you missed part one of this series you can read it here

As promised you get to hear from my dear sweet husband today.

[Adam]: So Christy wants me to contribute something to her blog, give all you folks out there a sense of my financial background. Sounds easy enough.

Financially, my family has had it fairly rough, mostly due to medical issues. My sister’s heart problems in particular put serious strain on my parents’ income, almost more than they could handle. As such, they had to deal with debt, but for things they severely needed. Despite their own debt, my parents taught me to stay away from debt, and President Hinckley (an LDS prophet from my youth) advised members of the church to not go into debt. My brother also set a good example for me when he almost made it completely through college without debt.

In high school, I worked for my parents’ crafting business to help pay for school. The deal was that I would get a small hourly wage from it and they would help with college costs in exchange for my cutting wood door toppers in the basement. I hated it, but I did it. I was very happy when I got a job at Dominos at 18 and got out of the house. Then I went on a mission to Japan for two years, then had a year off for medical issues.

When I started school, I was very, very poor. I had a monthly income of about $600 to pay for rent, food, books, travel, entertainment and anything else I needed. My resources were slowly drained to the point that when I married Christy I was almost completely broke, but I had no debt.

Then finally, after graduating, I got my first full-time career job last June. It has been wonderful to actually have money and now that we are debt free we are enjoying our hard work. It feels good to be making more than $600 a month.

My philosophy with money? Debt is stupid. I hate debt so much, I don’t even want to buy a house until I can pay for it in cash. I wouldn’t feel like I owned it until I paid it off. I would just have all the responsibility and risk without really owning it. I love saving up, then paying for something in full. It feels great to know and feel that I purchased something huge and owning it without anyone else (except Christy) having a claim on it.

===

Join me next Monday for part 3. And if you have any questions for us leave a comment or email myhomemakingexperiment [at] gmail [dot] com. Thanks for following! 

2 Comments on “Our Journey Out of Debt [part 2]”

  1. […] Our Journey Out of Debt [part 2] Grace [noun]: mercy; clemency; pardon […]

  2. […] you read the first two parts in this series (here and here) then you now have a sense for where Adam and I came from. We were both raised by parents who had […]


Leave a Reply

